Whanganui (/ˈhwɒŋənuːi/, Māori: [ɸaŋanui]), also spelt Wanganui, is a city on the west coast of the North Island of New Zealand.
The Whanganui River, New Zealand's longest navigable waterway, runs from Mount Tongariro to the sea. Whanganui is part of the Manawatu-Wanganui region.
Like several New Zealand centres, it was officially designated a city until administrative reorganisation in 1989, and is now run by a District Council. Although called Wanganui from 1854, the New Zealand Geographic Board recommended the name be changed to "Whanganui", and the government decided in December 2009 that, while either spelling was acceptable, Crown agencies would use the Whanganui spelling.


Whanganui is located on the South Taranaki Bight, close to the mouth of the Whanganui River. It is 200 kilometres north of Wellington and 75 kilometres northwest of Palmerston North, at the junction of State Highways 3 and 4. Most of the town lies on the river's northwestern bank, due to the greater extent of flat land.
Much of the town is on the river's northwest bank. The river is crossed by four bridges – Cobham Bridge, City Bridge, Dublin Street Bridge and Aramoho Railway Bridge (rail and pedestrians only).
Both Mount Ruapehu and Mount Taranaki can be seen from Durie Hill and other vantage points around the city.

Suburbs and localities

The following suburbs within Whangannu include (clockwise from due south): Southeast: Gonville, Castlecliff, Tawhero, Springvale, St. Johns Hill, Otamatea, Aramoho.
Northwest: Wanganui East, Bastia Hill, Durie Hill, Pūtiki

. support site